Weston St Mary
CE Primary School
Inspire Believe Achieve

But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded

2 Chronicles 15:7

I can do all things through him who strengthens me

Our Local Governing Body

Interim Local Board of Governors

Ms Jacqueline Waters-Dewhurst (Chair)
Mr David Clements
Mr Jeremy Woolner
Mrs Alison Flack
Mrs Rachael Walker
Mrs Emma Adie
Mr Chris Mackman
Mrs Vanessa Cook

What we do

The Governing body is responsible for the strategic management of our school and makes decisions about a wide range of issues, including:

  • Ensuring accountability
  • Acting as a ‘critical friend’ to the Head Teacher
  • Monitoring and evaluating the school’s progress
  • Budgetary allocation and control
  • Planning for the long term future of the school
  • Setting the school’s aims and values
  • Appointing senior members of staff including the Head Teacher

The Local Governing Board meets six times a year. It does not operate any committees.Due to the rapid progress made during the academic year, LAAT have now returned full delegated authority to the ILB.  Please see the Scheme of Delegation for more information.

How are Governors appointed

There are several different groups responsible for appointing governors, although once appointed all governors essentially perform the same role.

  • Community governors are intended to represent the community served by the school and are appointed by the governing body itself.
  • Authority governors are appointed by the Local Authority of the school.
  • Parent governors usually have children at the school and have been elected to join the governing body by the parents. If it is not possible to fill a parent vacancy this way the governing body may appoint parents of children at other schools.
  • Foundation governors, appointed through the church.
  • Staff governors are elected on to the governing body by staff at the school.


Scheme of Delegation

If you wish to contact our Chair of the Interim Local Board you can do so via email to Admin.Weston@southlincs-hub.co.uk or by post to: Weston St Mary CE Primary School, Small Drove, Weston, Spalding, Lincolnshire PE12 6HU

Name Relationship to members of staff Declared business or other interest Date of Appointment Term of Office Body who Appointed Them
David Clements   Director of BG Lincoln (Ltd)                       
Trustee of BGU Lincoln                              
Trustee of Parish Church of St Mary & St Nicholas, Spalding
01/09/17 1 Year LAAT
Rachael Walker None None 01/09/17 1 Year LAAT
Alison Flack None Executive Head Teacher at Whaplode CofE Primary  01/09/17 1 Year LAAT
Vanessa Cook None VC Business Management and Support, Foundation Governor at Whaplode CofE  01/09/17 1 Year LAAT
Emma Adie None Head of School and Staff Governor at Whaplode CofE Primary 01/09/17 1 Year LAAT
Chris Mackman None Chair of Governors at Whaplode CofE Primary 01/09/17 1 Year LAAT
Jacqueline Waters-Dewhurst None Diocesan Director of Education; LAAT Chief Executive Officer; St Lawrence Academy - Director 01/09/17 1 Year LAAT